so, here’s how it went…

The interview this morning was very low-key. First thing, though, the suit I’d planned to wear just… didn’t work out. It looked FUNKY, and not in a good way. So I wore gray pin-striped pants, a white blouse, and a black corduroy blazer (it almost looks velvet). And my Paris shoes, of course, and my pearls.

Got there 10 minutes early, filled out the application, and went back to meet with Sandy. She was nice enough, but I quickly discovered that she is definitely the type of person who (a) likes to toot her own horn, which I suppose is necessary for a marketing person, and (b) likes to hear herself talk. I think the interview was more about me affirming her delight with herself than for her to see if I was a good fit. (Or maybe affirming her makes me a good fit?)

At any rate, she did ask a few questions, though not many… mostly revolving around why I left TV, and what I want to do with my life. I’m still kind of excited at the prospect of working there, because it sounds very interesting. I’d be helping with proposals from time to time, and maybe layouts for brochures, press releases, even the website… but mostly answering the phone. On the other hand, I would be working for Sandy. I’m wondering if she just comes off as a little harsh now and gets better later, or if this is her at her nicest. (Not that she was mean… but clearly not as laid-back as I am. But then, who is?)

I really hate job interviews, because they’re so fakey. The potential boss is pretending not to be a ball-buster, while the potential employee is pretending to be a suck-up while pretending not to be sucking up. I don’t know, maybe someday I’m destined to work for myself. I just wish there was a way to be self-employed, make lots of money, and not have to deal with conflicting personalities on a day-to-day basis.

Leave a Reply

