wedding weirdness

I’m so frustrated!! Ryan and I went to Meme’s last night for dinner when my Stars game was about to come on. After dinner, Meme started talking about Martinez Social Club as a possible spot for the reception. Waitaminute!! I had been under the impression that we were going to take a look at the activity center at TLU. But evidently I’ve been left out of the loop!

Meme is upset that we want to get married/received (is that correct?) in Seguin, because none of her friends will want to drive out that far. But, she explained, if we had the reception in San Antonio and not in Seguin, that some of those friends of hers might come to the reception (even if they don’t come to the wedding). Now, correct me if I’m wrong… or don’t, because I personally think it’s rude to skip the CONSECRATION OF A RELATIONSHIP BEFORE GOD AND EVERYBODY and go straight for the dinner, cake, booze, and DJ. If you want to eat, drink, and be merry… go to Chili’s. But come to the reception to celebrate with us AFTER we’ve all been a part of this solemn and wonderful ceremony.

In fact, we have hardly focused any attention at all on the ceremony, except for the site. We’ve given no thought to music, passages, etc… it’s all been this big reception battle. I’m Lutheran, and the Lutheran church believes that the wedding ceremony is a church service. And as such, some of the guidelines I’ve read suggest NOT using the “Wedding March” (which I think is overused anyway) in a church wedding because of the fact that it takes the focus away from God, who is at the center of the worship service, and should be at the focus of our relationships with one another. But when I brought this up to Meme a few weeks ago, she was outraged that we didn’t want to walk down the aisle to “Wedding March.”

Am I being a bridezilla for having an opinion on any of this? Or am I getting wedding marched-on??

I’m just frustrated that my family isn’t getting a say in any of this. Certainly my parents are going to be at the wedding, but most of my family other than Mom and Dad lives out of state. So in all reality, it wouldn’t matter if we got married in Seguin or San Antonio or on Saturn, they probably won’t come. But my issue is, why is it such an inconvenience for people to drive half an hour away from home for ONE DAY when we do it to visit Ryan’s folks at least once a week – sometimes more??

Wah, wah, it’s not fair! Rant, rant, rant…..

3 responses to “wedding weirdness

  1. Be Bridezilla–it’s your wedding, so you get to decide!

  2. Holy crap! You’re not being bridezilla at all! And it’s only a half an hour??? Good grief! Put your foot down, girl! This is YOUR day!

    -gecko
    Digster and fellow Lutheran

  3. Since you’re the bride you and your parents should have some say in the cermony. Talk it over with your groom and tell him the way you feel. I’m sure you’ll come to and understanding. I was married on August 27 and trust me it’s stressful right up until the end but it will all turn out just fine in the way you want it to in the end. Breathe, relax and don’t let anybody do anything you don’t want them to do.
    sam022101

Leave a Reply

