odd sighting

I don’t have a picture (unlike, apparently, everything else I encounter) but this morning on my way to work, I passed by a skinny dude in a Santa suit – beard included – riding down the street on a motorized scooter. It was a very strange way to start the day…

I was listening to Christmas music for a few minutes this morning and at first I was annoyed by the Carpenters’ version of “Sleigh Ride”… first of all, I just hate listening to “Sleigh Ride,” as I had to play it EVERY SINGLE YEAR through middle school, high school, and into college. It’s like the perennial irritating band song, more so than “Pomp and Circumstance,” because at least I didn’t have to play that song during my senior years. And I’m not a big Carpenters fan, either. (Not even of “We’ve Only Just Begun.” Sorry, the 70’s are over. We now return you to your regularly scheduled decade.)

At any rate, some Christmas music does make me all choked up. Lots of it, in fact, regardless of the cheesiness (Carpenters notwithstanding). One decidedly NOT cheesy song that never fails to make me want to ball while I’m driving is “White Christmas” as sung by Bing Crosby… waaaahhh!! I should just buy a copy of “Holiday Inn” and revel in the teary-ness of that song. Woo!

So I’m kind of in the holiday spirit today, I guess… thanks to Scooter Santa and Karen Carpenter. I’m sure I’ll have more to write about later…

Leave a Reply

