homebodies


Hey Daddy!
Originally uploaded by sarahlonnevik.

Well, due to some errors in judgment in the financial responsibility category, I seem to have imposed a state of non-going-out-ness on Ryan and myself. (Or, you could just say I can’t manage a checking account, and we’re gonna be spending a lot of quality time at home.) This isn’t an entirely bad thing, though (except for the not having money part)… as it means more cooked dinners at home, more time spent talking, and (as we’re limiting our heater use) more time snuggling.

I’m pissed at myself for my financial retardation, but I know things can only get better from here. I’m thankful to Ryan for being understanding and not making me feel like more of a dumbass than I already do.

You know, I’m listening to Keith Urban’s “You’ll Think of Me,” and while I really like this song, it just occurred to me that I’m never going to listen to a sad breakup song the same way again. I’ll never again spend hours driving around and listening to Tori Amos (or whatever) and harping on the last scraps of a relationship, and crying as I sing along. I’ve found someone who’s in it with me for the long haul, despite my oft-demonstrated shortcomings. He emailed me this morning, and reminded me that soon my name will be changing, and his will be “Ryan lucky guy”.

I don’t know, I think I’m luckier.

4 responses to “homebodies

  1. what happened in the finance department? it’ll be okay!

  2. Wishful thoughts

    Call me later!!
    JDK

  3. This last year has been a tough year for me also, and I seem to continue to kick myself by doing foolish things with my money or by not tracking my expenses. I understand that you feel down and out, but I am really really happy that you have found a guy that is in it for the long haul with you. Congrats again. See you soon.

  4. Sarah, I’m just so happy for you and Ryan. . .and it’s so cool that you’ll never have to listen to a break-up song the same way again. Ryan is indeed a lucky guy, as you are a lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

