little things and big issues

And now, because I felt like it…

5 Things That Are Bothering Me Right Now

  1. My calves are sore from my workout yesterday.
  2. Today is taking forever to creep along.
  3. Ryan’s in Uvalde tonight.
  4. The bowling alley never makes Canadian bacon pizza for league night anymore.
  5. I ran out of conditioner this morning and my hair is funnnnnky.

I’m not in a bad mood, but c’mon… haven’t you ever had one of those afternoons where you’re just like… eh?

Well, the phone interview went well. It lasted about 20 minutes, and I felt like I answered all of their questions pretty well. The position is at the same site where I work now, but it would actually be for the company. And benefits start on Day 1, except for disability benefits, which makes sense.

Veronica called me yesterday to tip me off about a job that’s opening up in her company, too… basically doing what she does for another department. (Whatever it is that she does.) She said I needed to beef up my resume with respect to writing (time to dig out that ol’ senior seminar paper!) and send it in. She said the pay would be mid-30’s and they have great benefits, too.

I keep thinking that finding a job now that offers good benefits is going to be more and more important in the next few years, since Ryan and I are planning on having kids. I want to make sure that they’re taken care of and that we don’t have to worry about where the money’s coming from. I guess that’s another reason that I want to find a job that pays better. My parents did all right, but money was always a bit tight for them, and I don’t want to have to worry about my family. I want to be able to give them a good start in life, while at the same time educating them about being responsible with money (I never was) and teaching them that they have to work to get the things they want. (That’s one great thing about my family; I had to get a job when I was 16 if I wanted to keep gas in my car and eat lunch at school!)

Maybe it’s a little early to think about this, as kids are still a couple of years off, at least… but how do parents walk the line when raising their kids to be financially responsible and hardworking, while at the same time making sure they never have to go without? I think that it helps to go without sometimes… I wasn’t cut off at 16, for sure, but it was great to know that the money I made was mine, and at the same time I had to pay half of my share of the car insurance and fill up my car, and get my oil changed and get my own clothes. And my parents expected me to give to the church, and to save up for stuff if I wanted it. So I developed a heavy dependence on myself to provide for myself, but also a habit of living paycheck-to-paycheck, sort of. Now I’m financially stubborn and don’t want to rely on anybody else’s money, but also sort of like knowing that when I pay the bills, I pay them. I guess what all this rambling comes down to is that I want to instill in my kids the same pride in taking care of themselves, but enough financial know-how that they never flounder.

Whoops… this was going to be a short entry. Ah well, that’s the way stream-of-consciousness goes sometimes.

2 responses to “little things and big issues

  1. I can only respond to the raising kids post, from my experience as a child therapist. In 85% of the kids I work with, if they come from a family of two parents that love them, and work hard to instill decent values in them then they will generally be fine. Most of the problem kids I have, have parents with major problems. In knowing you Sarah, your kids will be fine you will just have to fight off the extremly influential media mindset of buy me everything now!. See you tommorow :).

  2. When did we grow up and have to consider things such as benefits? I hate being an adult. Well actually I love it, I just hate responsibility!

Leave a Reply

