memories in the making


Sparkly
Originally uploaded by sarahlonnevik.

I’m very excited to be off work today because tonight Ryan and I are celebrating Christmas with one another at home. We’ve got a bunch of obligations with his family this weekend (and he’s working) so we decided that today would be the best day to celebrate with just the two of us around. Of course, this means I’ve gotta STEP UP the Christmas shopping. I’m a horrible last-minute shopper… and the two-days-early thing makes it that much tougher.

After work, I’ll be stopping at the store to pick up some salmon for dinner and to hopefully find something that will surprise and delight Ryan. He’s been lamenting for the past few days that since he gave me my Christmas present already (the oh-so-fabulous Treo), I won’t have anything to unwrap, and thus he thinks he should get me something else. Meanwhile, I’m wrestling with the fact that I haven’t gotten him ANYTHING yet, and that I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

The best part, of course, is that we’re making time to spend the holiday together (even if it’s not on the actual date of the holiday). We’ve spent the past three Christmases together, all in Joplin. Last Christmas, of course, we were in the middle of a move down here to San Antonio, and the tree was packed up, but we were together, all the same. I want to pull out the Christmas video we made two years ago (wow, has it been that long?), when Brad came over to open gifts with us, and Ryan and I had gone around town to shoot video of Christmas lights, so that we can remember Christmases past.

On my way in to work this morning, I was listening to Christmas songs on the radio, and out of nowhere I recalled a favorite memory of mine that just made me laugh out loud. When I was growing up, my parents, my brother and I would go to Oklahoma City to spend the holidays with our grandparents. Jake and I woke up early one Christmas Day and ran into the living room, where we discovered that Santa had come and left gifts under the tree. We were so excited that one of us (I don’t even remember if it was me or Jake!) ran up the stairs shouting, “Santa came!! And he drank all the cookies and ate the milk!”

Next Christmas, Ryan and I will be married, but that doesn’t change the fact that we have spent the past several Christmases together as a family. And as the years go by, we’ll add to our family, both by the children we have and the new friends that we meet. I know that it sounds trite and overdone, but my heart is bursting with thanks that I have such wonderful people near and far with whom I can share the holiday. I can’t wait to see who else we’ll be celebrating with in the years to come!

2 responses to “memories in the making

  1. I know! Isn’t it fun/funny to think that we don’t even KNOW who we might be sharing future Christmases with? Children, etc. Crazy.

    Merry Christmas, Sarah!!

  2. Aww. I hope last night was wonderful, Sarah! Rich and I are having our Christmas together tonight. I remember last year’s: it was REALLY cold so I made tortilla soup and we cozied up and opened our gifts from each other. It just gets better and better.

Leave a Reply

