early to bed, early to rise

Ryan had the day off yesterday, but even so… I was somewhat amused when he told me that he was three sheets to the wind by about 4:30 yesterday afternoon. Drinking beer, watching Oprah… yeah, I wasn’t sure what to make of it either.

I came home to find him in the living room, watching the news, with the blinds drawn and candles lit. I laughed and told him it looked like 9pm in our house! We watched some TV (including last week’s Dancing With the Stars) and then decided to go to Huhot for dinner.

On the way, I talked to Adam, who seemed upset that we decided not to go to the Flying Saucer last night. Honestly, I don’t like feeling tied down to a routine, even when it comes to just going out. I don’t like having to go somewhere every week, regardless of whether or not I’m tired or sick or broke. It just isn’t any fun anymore. Since bowling finished, I’ve been enjoying my unstructured evenings… but this Tuesdays at Flying Saucer thing is threatening to take that away from me.

We got to Huhot and enjoyed the food, but we were privy to what sounded like the mid-life crisis of a woman two tables over. She was giving her poor friend an earful about her job, her home, her family… how it takes her 2-1/2 hours to get ready (I saw her and trust me, it’s not worth it!)… just general griping, non-stop, until they left 40 minutes or so later. It was somewhat irritating until we started making up a backstory to go with it… one of my favorite companion activities to people-watching.

After dinner, we came home and went to bed. At 9:30. Yes, we are 85. But it was nice to shut everything down, relax in the dark, and talk for a little bit before drifting off to sleep.

Unfortunately, when Ryan goes to bed early, he also wakes up early. He woke up at 4:30 this morning, then woke ME up at 5:30. He went to get tacos, and we drank coffee and watched the news together before I had to get ready for work. I love spending time with Ryan in the mornings (a somewhat rare occasion), but somehow it always feels like it’s nighttime when we’re both up, and I don’t want to go to work after that.

We agreed that we should make Saturday night an early night, since we’ve got to be at the 8am service to join the church. I’m really excited about that… although I don’t know how long this going to bed early stuff will ultimately last.

One response to “early to bed, early to rise

  1. Congrats on joining the church, good luck on waking early.

Leave a Reply

