food, notorious food

Well, after what I can only call frustration that manifested itself into a tearful discussion/admission that I am so, so, so overweight and out of shape, I signed up for eDiets.com in the hopes that I will be able to hold my stomach accountable to myself. I’m on day 2, and while the first day was not so great, today I’m proud of myself for sticking to it. I don’t want to become one of those obsessive calorie counters, but I think I’ll have to be until I can train myself to know what portions look like in real life. Ryan and I even went out for sushi last night, and I managed to not go overboard.

Today I went to the gym and decided, on a whim, to weigh myself. On Wednesday, the last time I weighed myself, I weighed 270. Today I was at 266.5, which was probably mostly a drop in water weight, and I don’t really expect that to be the norm. But it’s encouraging nonetheless. I’m really glad that I’ve gotten started, and hopefully this will be the beginning of a long process that will change me for the better. But it’s not about weight, or size… It’s about being healthier, as I’ve said many times before, but I just never had the tools with which to do it.

So here we go again… I’m hoping that I won’t crap out again… I just want to get myself together for once and for all.

2 responses to “food, notorious food

  1. Wow, that’s awesome, girl! I really admire you for your determination to get healthier. It’s something I definitely could be better at. Good timing, too, with Lent right around the corner and all.

  2. We’ve heard it a million times, but diet & exercise really do go hand in hand. Until I have to watch the calories slowwwwlllly creep off while on the treadmill I won’t think twice about consuming huge amounts of calories in a matter of minutes.

Leave a Reply

