pre-shower jitters… and how to send ’em packing

..always improved by caffeine. I’m waiting for Veronica down at the Starbucks in the Quarry. I’m early… so not like me. Then again, I’m wearing a skirt and heels on a Saturday. Also not like me.

I haven’t been to a bridal shower in many, many years… and of course have never been the focus of one. So I don’t know what to expect. I figure I just need to relax… which is why I got a light mocha frappuccino to take the edge off. A little chocolate, a little caffeine, a little sitting outside taking some time to myself to enjoy the lovely afternoon that has descended on the city, now that the thunderstorms have passed.

For all the wedding stress I’ve had lately, I’m so proud of myself for not biting my nails and not devolving into an uncontrollable emotional eater. Once upon a time, a stressful Saturday spent alone would have driven me to Jack in the Box or Dairy Queen (depending upon my craving du jour). But my Frappuccino is plenty sweet, and I’m really enjoying it.

I know I have a long way to go, but I feel good today and I’m enjoying the sensation of just living life, one day and one moment and one feeling at a time. It feels good to have this little coffee date with myself.

2 responses to “pre-shower jitters… and how to send ’em packing

  1. I hope you had fun at the shower. It is a little nerve racking to think that you are going to a party with the focus on you. Believe me, I had like 7 showers before our wedding.

    What happened to Ryan’s blog?

  2. I just got the invitation to your bridal shower. Unfortunately, I can’t go–my mother will be in town, and I have to take her to the airport that day. But I will most certainly be at the wedding!

Leave a Reply

