august sucks

I was talking to Rachael during my lunch break yesterday about why August sucks. I had read an article in Slate recently that recycled an article from last year on why August should be reduced to 10 days, because of all of the crappy things that happen in August.

I mean… it’s hot, it has no holidays, it’s back to school time, everyone’s beat down and cranky from the heat. It’s not as carefree as July with Independence Day (and my birthday!), and doesn’t bear any of the promise of a tranquil fall like September. It’s just this hot, sticky mess of a month.

Yesterday I was actually having a pretty good day… we woke up and went to the gym in the morning, I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast, was productive all morning, had a delicious and healthy lunch, and the afternoon flew by. But then… I was driving home and got in a little accident.

Now, it wasn’t anything major… it was on the access road, not the highway, and both the other driver and I were just fine. What happened… she was trying to get from the loopy exit ramp onto the 410 access road, as was I. She was in front, and I saw her brake lights go out, and she moved forward. I looked way behind me, trying to make sure nobody was coming. Satisfied that there wasn’t, I moved forward, and suddenly realized that the girl in front of me was still there. I slammed on my brakes, but there just wasn’t enough room to stop.

I’ve never been in a wreck before, and it was hot, and there I was, standing out by the side of Loop 410 and Highway 90, cars whizzing by our cars (even after we tried to move them). I stayed on hold with the police department for several minutes before a dispatcher came on, and I explained patiently to her where we were… five times. She finally got it and sent an officer out. In the meantime, I sort of paced along the side of the road like a tiger in a cage.

The officer arrived 20 minutes later. He asked us to head down the road to the Exxon at Marbach and 410, where he had us fill out information forms. We got the case number and each other’s insurance information, and we went on our (not-so-) merry way.

Ryan called as I was working on the form and I was upset… it’s funny how I can be so calm during the entire thing, but when I talk to him in the middle of it, all of my outward stoicism breaks down and I’m just this girl again. It’s not the first time it’s happened… when I had some teeth pulled, I cried after they put me back on oxygen, and then got myself together. But then Ryan walked in the room, and I just melted into helplessness again. Most of my friends and family can tell you that I’m not a crier most of the time. But with Ryan, my defenses go down much more easily and I don’t mind letting him know that I’m upset.

Yoga class was helpful last night in taking the edge off my mood, but I was still not feeling much like going out, so I begged off karaoke last night (which I had really been looking forward to, but just couldn’t muster the energy to get excited about) with Rachel and Todd. Ryan made a delicious chicken curry with all kinds of vegetables, and I had a glass of wine while we watched the news. After that, I basically crashed… the whole day was just exhausting. I woke up still in my workout clothes around 11, with Ryan still on the computer, and changed into sleepy-mode. Set the alarm for 6am again.

We did get up and work out this morning, but I still feel beat down today. I’m considering going down to the cafeteria and getting some iced coffee or something to wake myself up. I was good and awake until I got in that car this morning, and I just sank! Ryan was even good enough to make me a banana smoothie and a hard-boiled egg for breakfast. I have such a wonderful husband who takes such good care of me… it just makes me fall in love with him all over again every single day.

But August still sucks. 🙂

2 responses to “august sucks

  1. I’m glad to hear your accident was minor. Still, stuff like that just sucks big time.

    I know what you mean about being weirdly vulnerable when the bf/husband is in the room. Normally I can take care of shit by myself, but if I’m sick and McKee’s around, I turn into a huge baby.

  2. I’m sorry you had an accident but glad that you weren’t hurt and glad that you have such a wonderful husband. :)love you, mom

Leave a Reply

