The weekend is almost here, tra la, tra la! And wi…

The weekend is almost here, tra la, tra la! And with a slim chance of rain all weekend and a cool front dipping its way toward the Texas panhandle, I am giddy as a schoolgirl. Looks like Sunday/Monday (Janette’s visit) will be pleasantly non-hot (but not exactly cool, either).

I’m pleased with my outfit today… black jersey jumper/dress thingy, over a white button-up blouse, pearl necklace and earrings, and chunky black heels. I feel stylish and sharp but kind of fun too… just right for a Friday. I’m really enjoying getting out my pearls and wearing them. I used to not be much of a pearl fan, but now that I am in my mid-to-late twenties, I have learned that they really do go with a lot of things. I’m a particular fan of taking what could be stodgy pieces (suit jackets, pearls, cardigans, jumpers, high heels) and dressing them down with jeans, khakis, t-shirts, sometimes even flip-flops. Perhaps there is a fashionista in me somewhere, I just have to find what clothes make me happy and go for it, damn the Voguettes!

As I noted over at Sara’s blog earlier, I had a major salty-meaty craving last night and managed to convince Ryan that I needed to go to Wing Stop. Besides, it was my treat! I was sated by the lemon pepper wings and their sweet-salty fries. Wahoo! After dinner, we went to World Market for all of 15 minutes – when did they start actually making people leave at 9pm? – and we picked up two bottles of wine (Riff Pinot Grigio and Bonny Doon Big House Pink) and a 6-pack of Buffalo Bill’s Pumpkin Ale for Ryan, who has been out of beer and in a fall mood. Hopefully the ale alleviated both!!

We opened the Riff last night and it was pretty good, lots of pucker factor, but not dry. I was fairly buzzed after two glasses… then again, Ryan and I tend to get four glasses of wine from a bottle instead of the prescribed six, so I suspect I may have been pouring a little generously. 🙂

Looking forward to a great weekend with Rachael, Janette and Ryan!! All the juicy details to come later! (Well… a moderate amount of juicy details, anyway!)

Leave a Reply

