bad news, bluebonnets, beer, blogs, books and basketball

BAD NEWS:

First, I have to start off with some bad news. Our next door neighbor, Julie, has a tumor on her lung. She is 28 years old and is married with two young daughters (2 years old and 6 months old). We found out through a friend at church who has taught school with her mom for 15 years. I went to bring some flowers from the backyard and see her in the hospital last night and she is remarkably positive, all things considered. She met with an oncologist, who thinks she may have Hodgkins’ lymphoma, which is sort of good news because it’s treatable and curable. But nevertheless, keep Julie and her family in your prayers.

BLUEBONNETS:

We went out to the Denison Dam last Sunday to take family pictures in the beautiful bluebonnets (Texas’ state flower, for those of y’all who don’t know). There were a lot of families and a few other dogs out there, too. The weather was beautiful and the bees that were enjoying the bounty didn’t sting us. Ryan and I came back a little itchy, but… that’s not too big of a deal. As you can see, we had a lot of fun and we tried to let the dogs explore a little bit. I tell you what, there’s nothing cuter than dogs sniffing flowers. 🙂

BEER:

Progress at the Backyard Dog Microbrewery, also known as our kitchen. We’ve bottled the Pup-pernickel Ale and put Barker’s Summer Blackberry Brew in the fridge. The Cherry Wheat is done and it’s so tasty… holds up well next to Sam Adams Cherry Wheat, if I do say so myself! Looking forward to trying the Blackberry Brew. MmmmM!!!! Hailey’s Honey is brewing on the counter right now. I think it’s going to be very, very, very good!

BLOGS:

I have been neglectful here, but I am also trying to blog once a week over on my Myspace page. Of course the really juicy stuff is still here. Check out the Myspace stuff for my thoughts on marriage (in general) and Nickel Creek (who we’re going to see TOMORROW in San Antonio… I am so friggin’ excited!!!!!!!!).

BOOKS:

Last weekend we went to Dallas to see Janette between trips, and I bought “Vanity Fair” at Barnes and Noble. I have not started it yet and it is very thick, so I’d better start reading if I ever want to finish it. Is it weird that the movie trailers (for the film that came out a few years ago with Reese Witherspoon) made me want to read the book? And I’ve never seen the movie, so I don’t really know what it’s about at all. Kind of impulsive. Ah well.

BASKETBALL:

As a general rule, I do not like basketball. More specificially, I am not a Mavericks fan at all, because if I do have to watch basketball I will be rooting for the Spurs. But this week I have been the victim of the Mavericks’ playoff berth, having to put together promo after promo for this business who is sponsoring both our sports coverage of the Mavs and the actual games that we’re showing on one of our stations. This is upsetting to me as well as creatively exhausting, as it is a difficult project to get excited about (for more reasons than one). And the promo editing will continue as long as the Mavericks do. All the more reason to root for whoever they’re playing.

Sorry, that’s evil. But that’s how I feel.

Leave a Reply

