Shape vs. weight

Okay, so we took the plunge – we being me and Ryan – and joined Weight Watchers today.  I will be starting meetings next week and Ryan is going to do the man-friendly online version.  I have the online tools at my disposal, too.

It’s weird, because I feel a major sisterhood with the Fat Acceptance movement (see Nash, Joy)… that fat is not good or bad, just is.  And that fat people can be – and are – as attractive as thin people.  I have always been pretty okay with the way that I look, but it is the way that I feel that bothers me.  Ryan went to play softball last night and I noticed that many of the guys on his team had girlfriends and wives who were there also… but they were playing softball in the women’s league.  While I am not a fan of softball, it would be awesome to be able to participate in things like that.

Mostly, though, I just want to be totally comfortable and unfettered by my body.  It has nothing to do with how much I weigh, which is why I was sort of hesitant to join something called Weight Watchers.  And I had to put in an “ideal” weight which was far below what I would have considered ideal for me… I would be happy at a higher weight than I put in, but we’ll see how it goes.  I told Ryan that my “ideal” weight is kind of like my “ideal” income or “ideal” job.  It’s an ephemeral thing that would be nice to have but I don’t need it to be happy!

So… I guess the ideal for me would be to be in shape, whether that shape is round or straight or curvy or zig-zaggy.  I don’t care, I just want to enjoy living without stopping for breath!

Has anyone else had any success/experience with Weight Watchers?

One response to “Shape vs. weight

  1. Marty is a lifetime member of weight watchers. That is how she lost weight & she still goes to maintain. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

