On the grown-up train

It feels like I have boarded the train into adulthood, and that I will arrive sometime in 2008. I am beginning to see some of the sights that I have heard about, like buying a house, creating and sticking to a budget, thinking about children, doing something about my health, taking charge in my job…

All of these signs definitely point to being a grown-up. When I think about where I was a year ago, two years ago, five years ago… I have grown up a lot. It has been ten years – this year, anyway – since I graduated from high school. I have a lot to be proud of in those ten years, as well as some mistakes and missteps that I have learned from.

But now that I am becoming a real grown-up, I am also learning to take pleasure in the small, delightful things. The sound of the computer humming, the TV turned off, time to myself, time with my family. As I take notice of the small delights in life, though, the small distractions and annoyances seem to come into sharper focus, such as paying bills, dealing with irritations at work, or the inconvenience of a rainy day.

This weekend, Ryan and I spent a lot of time at home. Friday night we stayed home, made dinner, and played Mario Party on our GameCube while drinking some wine. Saturday I had a project to work on, but then we went out to lunch and invited my parents over for homemade pizza. Sunday was a long day at church, followed by lunch at Carino’s and a slice of cheesecake (shared with Ryan) that was so, so good. We went to Waterloo Park in Denison in the afternoon, where we ran around with the dogs in the cold and wind. And tonight we went over to my parents’ house for homemade pot roast, which was perfect on this rainy, cold evening. It was uneventful, for the most part, but such a nice weekend. It was good to spend it with people I love, doing things I enjoy (mostly) and ending the weekend feeling accomplished and relaxed.

Tonight Ryan went to bed early, because he wasn’t feeling too well, and after I tucked him in I took some “me time” to read some blogs and put together a slide show of our New Year’s celebration with Mike and Janette. It was cool to relive that night, because I know that I had such a lot of fun, and it started the year off in a way that was grown-up, relaxed, fun, silly, and full of laughter and comfort. It was an evening that we lived the way that I want to live the rest of my life.

Click to play New+Year's+Eve
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
Make a slideshow – it’s easy!
3 responses to “On the grown-up train

  1. Welcome to the grownup world. We enjoyed spending time with you as well and seeing you all grown up!
    love,
    mom

  2. being on the grown-up train isn’t so bad once u get used to it. The benefits by far outweight the downsides. its nice to be able to enjoy the richness of life and I think being an adult only adds value. I would never want to be 20 again…not for all the money in the world! enjoy the here and now. it is what makes life worth living!!

  3. sorry posting from the phone…multiple spelling and grammer errors detected…sorry!! 10:15pm and still working. uggg.

Leave a Reply

