Living the change

Today went by slowly, and I spent all day in anticipation of going to the gym to run the week 2 workout for Couch to 5K.  I just could not wait to get off work so I could go home, change into my workout clothes, and start my workout.  That all went as planned, and I made it to the gym by 5:45 (after taking care of a few things at home) but as soon as I ran my first speed interval, I knew it was going to be a tough workout.  I had done it twice already in the past week, and it seemed like the second time it got a little easier.  But this third attempt was going to take gritted-teeth determination to get through.So I turned up the music, tuned out the noise of the gym around me, and listened to the constant monologue in my head of “You can do this, you’ve done it before.  Just 90 seconds.  Just 60 seconds.  Just 30 seconds.  Now rest and walk for 2 whole minutes.”  And repeat 5 more times.  By the time I got to the cooldown, I was red and dripping with sweat, and my legs were already starting to get sore.  I was so tired I completely forgot to stretch after I got off the treadmill, which only made things worse.

When I got home, my legs were really starting to tighten up.  But Ryan had already started dinner and we kept it low-key, watching some TV and bottling beer until we sat down in the den to eat.  I took a Motrin, negotiated a leg rub-down in exchange for a foot- and neck-rub, and cashed in.  I’m still a little sore but it’s starting to subside, which is a good sign.  Hopefully my legs aren’t saving it up for tomorrow.

But, you know… I am really proud of myself.  Today was a good day.  I made good food choices, I stuck to my plan, I didn’t veer off into tempting territory.  I was actually excited about going to the gym, and when it didn’t live up to my fun expectations, I got through it anyway.  I whined like a child when I got home, but I took care of myself.  So no matter what the scale says tomorrow, I know that I am doing good for my body and my future health.  I am living the changes that I have made.

Of course, if I lose a pound and break 40 lost, I will be ecstatic!

One response to “Living the change

  1. I’m so proud of you for making so many good choices for yourself. You are a WINNER!

Leave a Reply

