Six months later

The last load of laundry is in the dryer, and I don’t think I’m going to make it until it’s finished.  I’ve just got to go to sleep soon, that’s all there is to it.

I’m up late thinking, though, which is usually a good thing for me.  I’m thinking about how different a place I am in now than I was six months ago… because about six months ago I joined Weight Watchers.  It will officially be six months on Friday, but I will be going to a meeting Thursday evening (since I missed my usual Tuesday meeting because of travel) so it seems just as well to think about it now.

Ryan played in a draft softball league last fall in Denison that ended just about when I was starting WW, and I remember how most of the wives and girlfriends of the guys Ryan was playing with were playing on the women’s teams, instead of sitting in the bleachers (or more often, the car to stay warm) like I was.  They weren’t just watching the games like I was… they were playing.

Well… there’s another draft league starting up this spring, later this month, and this time Ryan and I are both going to join.  I know that I am not the most athletic person.  I haven’t played anything remotely close to softball since I was 8 years old, playing Girls’ Club kickball on Saturdays.  I am sketchy on the rules.  I don’t want to have to slide into base.  I throw like a girl.  I can’t catch very well.  I don’t run so much as I granny shuffle.  And don’t get me started on batting.

But in spite of all that, I’m actually pretty excited about it.  It’s something outside of my comfort zone, and even though I have a pretty good inkling that I will be terrible and the last one picked to be on a team, I don’t care.  At least this time around, they don’t pick the teams in front of everybody.  So if I’m last, so what?  Nobody will know except the team managers.  I won’t even know.  I’ll just know that I am trying something new, just for fun, just to say that I can do it.

I need to get back into my running routine, but this cold is making me dizzy and snotty and just not up to it right now.   This is the point where it gets tough… the point that I have to turn the “I need to” into “I will” and finally “I did.”  Intentions must become plans must become actions must become history in order for all this to work out.

Later on, I’ll find out if all the walking in New York really did offset some of the foods that I chose while we were there, at least as far as the scale is concerned.  I enjoyed everything I ate and don’t regret any of it, because it will be a long time before I eat any of those particular foods again.  If I gain, it’s not going to make me quit.  I’ll suck it up and move on.

I usually don’t blog here about my weight loss efforts, but this sort of time-based milestone seems like as good of a reason as any.  I’ll be sure to update my weight loss site with the results of my weigh in.  For now, I seriously need to go to sleep!

One response to “Six months later

  1. You are so awesome! I HOPE YOU ARE REALLY PROUD OF YOURSELF.

Leave a Reply

