New brews

Sara and I went to the new (512) Brewery in South Austin yesterday to try a sample of their three brews.  There were a ton of people there, but we got in line and into the actual brewery in about 15 minutes to claim our three 5-ounce pours.

They were sampling the three beers that they currently produce – a pale ale, an IPA, and a Belgian-style witbier.  We got our three little glasses and moved outside under a tree on a little grassy island in the parking lot.

I started with the IPA (seen in the back) because that’s generally my least favorite.  But maybe as I continue to try them, they will grow on me.  It was okay for an IPA… hoppy and astringent as expected.  But I could almost detect a flavor beyond that hoppy, Listerine-like taste.  The pale ale (front left) was also a little hoppy but had sort of a fruity flavor to it as well.

By the time I got around to the wit (front right) – usually my favorite – it was a little lukewarm and so I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped.  It was also missing the orange flavor that I was expecting, but after watching the news later I found out that it’s because the brewer uses grapefruit peel instead of orange peel during the brewing process.  But I can’t say that I agree with his choice.

Sara’s friends Karen and Bruce came out to meet us, and we sat and drank and chatted for a while before they decided to go find beer to drink inside at another place.  I opted to head back north and spend some time with the dogs and watch the Olympics.  We did to go Flying Saucer later, and found out that they will be carrying (512)’s beer soon.  But I did have an Avery White Rascal and got my witbier fix, anyway.  🙂

Leave a Reply

