Songs about Sara(h)

I was driving to work yesterday and heard “Sara” by Jefferson Starship. If you need a refresher:

A few things to note about this song/video:

  • The song is GOD-AWFUL.
  • The guy’s mullet is GOD-AWFUL.  No wonder Sara left him.
  • I don’t understand why there are two women in this video.  Was the dude left as a child, too?  By another Sara?
  • Is that Rebecca DeMornay under all those bangs?
  • The fake clouds at the end suck.

This is the worst song involving my name, ever.  It’s terrible!  It’s sloppy and totally beneath the people who brought you Jefferson Airplane.  The space program ruined them, I guess.

Now, I don’t consider myself to be a narcissist, but there’s something about hearing your name in a song that makes you want it to be a GOOD song.  I would like to take this opportunity to remind everyone of my favorite song involving my name… “Sara Smile,” by Hall & Oates.  I know, I know.  They did “Maneater,” and that is pretty bad news, but this is a fantastic song and just gives me warm fuzzies whenever I have the good fortune to hear it on the radio.

While I was looking for the song on Youtube, I found what may be the best VERSION of this best song about my name… Monte Montgomery’s brilliant cover.  Apparently he does this quite a bit live, and I’m a little surprised that I haven’t heard it before today.  Take the 7 minutes it will take you to listen to this version of the song… it’s worth it.

Honorable mention goes to Bob Dylan’s “Sara”, only because I haven’t heard it very much.  It’s quite bohemian and interesting and waltzy, though, and worth a listen as well.

One response to “Songs about Sara(h)

  1. Don’t forget “Lucky” by Radiohead! “Kill me Sarah, kill me again, with love.” Best usage of our name in a song, IMO. 🙂 Though “Sarah Smile” is pretty funky.

Leave a Reply

